Miniature Mouse Tree Dolls House inspired by Brambly Hedge

When I was very little my Mum bought the Jill Barklem Brambly Hedge books for me and I loved them.  I used to paint and draw pictures copied from the books and I had posters on my wall.  I still have my original books and, about a year ago, I read them to my twin 4 year old boys.  I had just finished making my first miniature project (http://madshobbithole.wordpress.com) and was looking for inspiration for my next piece of work whilst waiting for the new Hobbit movie to be released……11 months later, this is the result – a Brambly Hedge inspired Dolls House

The house has now been sold if you are interested in any of my other work, please check my Etsy shop (https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/MadsMiniatures?ref=search_shop_redirect) (click to be taken there) or  email me at maddie.chambers@googlemail.com

  

The whole thing is inspired by Crabapple Cottage drawn by Jill Barklem in her wonderful book “Spring Story” (see link below)

http://www.bramblyhedge.co.uk/uploads/media/Gallery/Cherryblossom.jpg

   

          The frame and bark are completely hand made from scratch – see the post ‘how I made the tree house’ for details

       The laundry room – the towels are made from old baby bibs from when my twins were young and the cloths are strips of ribbon

And of course it had to have Mushrooms!!!  I made these out of Fimo and each one is approx 3mm across so very fiddly! I bought the dressers, but the one in the pantry was not tall enough so I made some more shelves to make it taller to match the one in the book.

An

I am quite proud of this fireplace – it is made from scraps of wood, fimo and an old egg whisk! See how I made it here

I made the mouse by modifying a Dolls House Emporium doll – I took off the doll’s head and made a head and hands out of Fimo.

    I made all of the food myself from Fimo and liquid Fimo.

I made the beams from strips of wood – I aged them by whittling down with a craft knife and then used coloured beeswax to stain them.  The fireplace is made from a frame of wood, cement painted to look like stone and sticks from my garden!  I added a flickering bulb from Matlock Miniatures (got all my lights from there too) http://www.matlockminiatures.com/Shop/index1.html

I

I could not find a four poster bed to fit the bedrooms, so I custom made them from leftover wood from the ceiling beams

My mum sent me the apple blossom from USA – they have much more selection over there and it looks way more realistic than anything I could find here.  Thanks Mum xxx

I bought the fireplace from a wonderful shop in Chesterfield – The Dolls House Gallery.  If you are a dolls house fan, it’s worth a trip as it is like an Aladdin’s cave!  http://www.dollshousegallery.co.uk/

You can connect with me on Twitter (although I rarely use it I’m more of a facebook person!) @maddsrocks

https://twitter.com/maddsrocks

93 Responses to “Miniature Mouse Tree Dolls House inspired by Brambly Hedge”

  1. Lori Says:

    Wow! So detailedvand reminds me of the lovely books. Beautiful and creative job.

  2. sofia Says:

    this has to be the most amazing dolls house i have ever seen in my life!!!!!

  3. Arte Bambini Says:

    i just love it!!!

  4. VickyH Says:

    Just amazing! The detail here is just stunning. You should be very proud of yourself. This belongs in a museum some where. YOU are a true artist!

  5. Knitty Gritty Homestead Says:

    My husband and I are totally in awe…this is just beyond breathtaking. I too am one of those that wishes I could move into a Brambly Hedge home…your attention to detail here is unbelievable!! My daughters would lose their minds if this was in our house!

  6. Liochka Says:

    Magnifique !!!! bravo.

  7. Leslie Likes: Cool and Unusual Toys « timi & leslie Says:

    […] consuming scouring the internet for cool toys.  So we are here to help!  Check out this amazing Brambly Hedge Dollhouse!  It’s absolutely gorgeous!  Ok, so this one is really expensive, but we just had to show […]

  8. Corrie Says:

    I am flabbergasted! This is so beautiful!

  9. Gayle Says:

    Awesome , just like the pic in the book !

  10. Mel Rico Says:

    Lovely, so amazing! I’ve never seen such a stunning and creative doll house! Congrats!

  11. Angeli Says:

    Awsome! I should buy this for my son Shane,hes got a mouse upstairs in his room.LOL:)

  12. Foxy Whiskers » Blog Archive » A Summer Cold and some Links Says:

    […] squealed with delight when I saw this. Two of my childhood favourites; Brambley Hedge and […]

  13. SheilaMry Says:

    Really Lovely.

  14. Judy Says:

    I have only just found this website, having just had a satellite dish installed (I live in Australia) I cannot believe how beautiful this treehouse is – and it has been my dream to build one.

  15. Kat Says:

    Oh. My. God. I’m sitting here thinking about what I could sell to raise the funds to buy this (car/ cat/ vital organ…) it is just beautiful. I’m blown away, you are an absolute genius! Love it xx

  16. Renata trejo Says:

    Que bonito trabajo, muy sutil, felicidades.

  17. shkiah Adams Says:

    Oh my lord i love this!! I am due with my first little girl in august and i would love something like this but as a fairy house. would you be interested in making something along these lines? Feel free to email me for a chat to see what we could organise.
    Kiah :-)

  18. Lenny Kramer Says:

    dit is het mooiste wat ik tot nog toe heb gezien in miniatuur.
    GEWELDIG-SUPER.

  19. Ali Says:

    Oh my, I just came across this, because I have been crocheting some little mice for my niece, and they need a house. This is the most amazingly adorable thing ever … what a magnificent effort. I salute you.

  20. 12 Darling DIY Dollhouses Says:

    […] knock my socks any off more than these other magnificent houses?” Well, get ready because Mad’s Mouse House is about to blow your mind! Taking 11 months to complete (you can see how it was made here), the […]

  21. pauline reece Says:

    Im am so jealous I wish I could do this
    it is amazing The most beautiful dolls house I think I have ever seen I wish I could afford to buy it

  22. BookMoot (@BookMoot) Says:

    You are a true artist. Love this, love the books.

  23. Cyndee Randall Says:

    I have a large chunk of a tree that was cut down of my brother’s property. It is hollow and I have been playing with ideas for it. You have inspired me. This is AMAZING. I love the details. (I also love the books, even though I came to them late in life.) Thank you for sharing this amazing piece of work!

  24. Patti Hatfield Says:

    what a beautiful work of art wonderfull do you make these ? if you do how much would you charge I would love to buy 1

  25. Patti Hatfield Says:

    I THINK THIS is an amazing piece I love your beautiful art work

  26. hpmcq Says:

    EPIC!

  27. Anya from Older Single Mum and The Healer Says:

    That is just genius! Amazing detail intricacy – a true gift x

  28. Michelle Twin Mum Says:

    Gosh that is truly beautiful, a real labour of love. Mich x

  29. Angie (@cakesphotoslife) Says:

    how amazing is that x

  30. Mari Says:

    What a labour of love you must be so proud, it’s beautiful

  31. Sue Kulmacz Says:

    How much would you charge to sell these? A work of genius…

  32. Sue Kulmacz Says:

    Please sell these…

  33. Ayesha Imran Says:

    This is truly an award winning piece of art ! <3 <3 i wish i was small enough to live in it :D

  34. Apfelbaumhaus | mycraftprojects Says:

    […] herkömmliches Puppenhaus für mich und meine kleine Tochter bauen. Inspiriert von einem anderen Puppenhaus baute ich mein […]

  35. Funda Güven Says:

    This is fantastic, amazing, unbelievable!

  36. Judy k Says:

    You did a FABULOUS job on this wonderful house! I need a week just to take it all in!

  37. Susan Porter Thomas Says:

    OMG this is stunning, it must have taken thousands of hours to create.. Even if you did sell them you would have to charge millions..

  38. w Says:

    How did u make it?!?!?!?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 229 other followers

